Environmental Caucus Chair for CDM: April 17th, 2017

In spring of 2015, I was accepted to solely chair the Environmental Caucus for the College Democrats of Massachusetts. As a proud Warren/Sanders Democrat, I was very excited to help organize demonstrations on environmental policy across Massachusetts. Unfortunately, because my undergraduate was in a more isolated part of the state, most of the campaigns I ran were digital entries either complementing, or criticizing, policies that came from the Obama administration. For instance, the general consensus was that we, as an organization, were happy with the Clean Power Plan, but proceeded to acknowledge the shortcomings of the legislation. As Caucus Chair, I regularly updated social media regarding pressing issues, and was able to coordinate an intersectional message with our other caucuses. Although I know that I could have left a stronger legacy, I was proud that I was able to speak one-on-one with both Representative Joe Kennedy (MA-04), and Representative Jim McGovern (MA-02) about fracking concerns in Massachusetts, as well as our organization’s opposition to the construction of any pipelines. In part with working within the College Democratic network, it was also invigorating to expand my environmental connections beyond SustainUS and the Sierra Club, and to have a great group of young, passionate environmentalists holding the Democratic Party accountable.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

